The Basis of Union and the Regulations give specific responsibilities to presbytery and synods. In WA, where possible we try to have a ‘one-stop-shop’ approach to governance, so an issue is only dealt with by one group. Most of the committees and boards which are recognised as bodies of the Synod of WA deal with financial and property resources. These are:

  • Resources Board
  • Uniting Church Investment Fund Board
  • Innovative Opportunities Unlimited (IOU) Fund Committee
  • Uniting Church in Australia Property Trust (WA)

Other Joint Bodies of the Synod & Presbytery are:

  • General Council
  • Synod Standing Committee
  • Business Committee
  • Nominating Committee
  • Church Law Committee

Other synod boards and committees are state-based groups which relate to other groups within the national Uniting Church or ecumenically. These include:

  • UnitingCare WA Forum
  • Committee for Counselling
  • Committee for Discipline
  • Social Justice Board
  • Innovative Opportunities Unlimited Fund Committee
  • Beananging Kwuurt Institute Board
  • Synod Standing Appeal Panel
  • Committee for Counselling (shared with SA and Northern Synod)
  • Committee for Discipline (shared with SA and Northern Synod)
  • Ecumenical Affairs Committee
  • UnitingWorld WA

Other Synod Representatives:

  • Bridging Entities
  • Churches Advisory Board of Good News Broadcasters
  • Churches Commission on Education / YouthCare
  • Council of Churches of WA
  • Earthwise
  • Hope Community Services formerly Drugarm

Other Community Service Agencies

  • Fremantle Wesley Mission Church Council
  • Good Samaritan Industries Board
  • UnitingCare West Board
  • Juniper

Educational Institutions

  • Trinity College
  • Methodist Ladies College Council
  • Penhros College Council
  • Presbyterian Ladies College Council
  • Scotch College Council
  • St Stephen’s School Council
  • Tranby College Council Board
  • Wesley College Council

Presbytery Commissions and Committees

  • Pastoral Relations & Placements Commission
  • Strategy and Mission Planning Commission
  • Commission for Education Discipleship and Leadership
  • Candidates for the Ministries Commission
  • Covenanting Commission
  • Ministerial Benefits Committee
  • Congregational Community Services Commission
  • Chaplaincy Working Group (reporting to PR&PC)
  • Disaster Relief & Community Recovery (reporting to PR&PC)
  • First Third Working Group
  • Rural Ministries Working Group
  • Liturgy Committee

Uniting Church Network Groups reporting to Presbytery

  • Multicultural Ministry
  • Uniting Church Adult Fellowship
  • Uniting Church Mission Fellowship

Short Term Committee

Royal Commission and Institutional Responses to Child Sexual Abuse (Contact: Cindy Gorton on (08) 92609800 or